Lab Operational Since: 17 Years, 9 Months, 30 Days·Facility Status: Fully Operational & Accepting New Cases·
Lab Operational Since: 17 Years, 9 Months, 30 Days·Facility Status: Fully Operational & Accepting New Cases·
Lab Operational Since: 17 Years, 9 Months, 30 Days·Facility Status: Fully Operational & Accepting New Cases·
Is DriveSavers Data Recovery Legit?
Yes, DriveSavers is a legitimate cleanroom laboratory operating since 1985, with real technicians and public referral placements. They publish no rate card, so the number arrives after the drive does. Documented customer quotes on Reddit and BBB run into the thousands, and every one of them is sourced further down this page. Rossmann Group publishes five tiers per device before you ship, and lists independent labs we would rather you use than overpay.
“This is literally the first review I've ever written, and these guys absolutely deserve it. I had a hard drive fail after it was connected to a bad power supply and fried itself. I basically lost 6+ months of work and was devastated. I sent the drive Rossmann Repair and they managed to recover all of the data I lost, and sent it to me on a new 1tb external drive.
Also important to note: when I sent the drive in the company was in the process of moving to a new store location.”
“Five weeks ago, my 10 year old daughter's 5th gen iPad stopped charging. My husband and I suspected a loose connection, but when we took it to Apple, they ran some test and concluded the logic board died. Since the iPad was set up under me when she got it (at the age of 6), I had disconnected her from *my* iCloud. Apple basically couldn't sell me a new iPad because we had no data backup.”
“Great service! Walked in last minute after calling in for an estimated price on an ipad and macbookair. Ofcourse i understand things can change once my devices are actually looked at but i liked the fact i could get a quote. This made me actually want to come in. Once at the shop i was greeted and attended to quickly.”
“My iPhone 7 was not keeping a battery charge. I contacted Rossmann Repair Group via their website contact form and they gave me a free estimate of what replacing the battery would cost, and that it would be a same day turnaround.”
DriveSavers is a legitimate, enterprise-grade cleanroom laboratory headquartered in Novato, California. They have operated since 1985, employ real technicians, and appear in public referral materials from Apple, Western Digital, and Seagate.
Their marketing emphasizes enterprise intake workflows and a cleanroom for mechanical hard drives. Those are real business capabilities; they do not explain why an SSD, iPhone, or simple board-level repair receives the same premium quote structure.
What DriveSavers Gets Right
Public Referral Placement: Apple, WD, and Seagate list them in public support or referral materials. This confirms brand recognition; it does not prove a lower-cost independent lab lacks the equipment needed for the same recovery work.
Enterprise Intake: They market chain-of-custody workflows for businesses that need vendor paperwork. This is useful for some corporate jobs, but it does not recover family photos from a dead SSD any better.
ISO 5 Cleanroom: Their cleanroom meets particle count standards for opening mechanical hard drives where platters must be exposed. This is a legitimate requirement for head swap procedures.
Enterprise Documentation: For hospitals, government agencies, and financial institutions that require extra paperwork, DriveSavers sells that process as part of the recovery job.
Where the Controversy Starts
✕Consumer Pricing: Enterprise paperwork and cleanroom overhead get billed to everyday consumers recovering family photos and student laptops. A consumer does not benefit from enterprise vendor paperwork, but they absorb its cost.
✕Cleanroom for SSDs and Phones: DriveSavers charges cleanroom-tier pricing for solid-state devices that contain zero moving parts and do not require cleanroom conditions.
✕Opaque Quoting: DriveSavers does not publish fixed prices. Their pricing page states the final cost "generally falls in the top third of the original quote range."
Documented price quotes03/14
How Much Does DriveSavers Charge for Data Recovery?
DriveSavers publishes no rate card, so every number below came from a customer who wrote down what they were quoted. The following table presents each quote with the device type, amount quoted, date, and a verbatim customer statement with source URL.
Device / Problem
Amount Quoted
Date
Customer Quote
Drive (type not stated)
$3,900 (reduced to $1,800)
2025
"I posted a few days ago that they were going to charge me $3900 for data recovery and that I already agreed for them to send it back. Now they emailed me this."reddit.com/r/datarecovery/comments/1j69aiz/
Two of the six documented quotes above show DriveSavers dropping their price by 50% or more the moment a customer threatened to leave. A $3,900 quote dropped to $1,800, and an iPhone quote of $2,600 dropped to $1,980, then $1,800.
If a firm can afford to cut its price in half to retain a job, the original quote was not based on the cost of parts and labor.
This pattern is consistent with value-based pricing: the initial quote is calibrated to the customer's perceived desperation, not the technical complexity of the failure. Independent labs that publish fixed pricing tiers tied to specific failure categories do not negotiate because the price already reflects the actual work.
Professional Engineer Consensus
"Drive Savers are complete price gougers. Their quotes are almost always 2-4X more expensive than what you'll get at smaller reputable labs. Their work isn't any better to justify the higher price either."r/datarecovery; reddit.com/r/datarecovery/comments/1j3te7p/
The r/msp complaint is particularly telling for enterprise IT. If a lab declares 3 of every 5 drives irrecoverable, it raises the question of whether those drives needed physical head swaps or firmware rebuilds that the lab chose not to perform.
Independent labs using PC-3000 perform the same firmware and mechanical procedures. See labs we recommend by name.
What the referral pipeline publishes04/14
What does DriveSavers publish about its referral pipeline?
DriveSavers publishes no rate card, so what a quote covers is not something a customer can check. Four things about the pipeline that delivers you to them are published, by Apple, by DriveSavers, by a professional association, and by their own employees. Each is sourced below.
Apple Referral Partnership
Apple lists DriveSavers as a recommended data recovery provider in official support document 102020 (support.apple.com/en-us/102020). When a consumer visits an Apple Store Genius Bar for a failed iPhone or MacBook, they are frequently directed to DriveSavers.
The relationship is not new. It goes back to a 1999 Apple support memo in which Apple agreed to accept drives DriveSavers had opened without voiding the hardware warranty. More than two decades of Genius Bar referrals followed. That is why the trust runs so deep: because the name arrives by way of Apple, a four-figure quote reads as the price of doing it right rather than a number to question, and the comparison shopping most people would otherwise do never happens. Apple itself is careful to say the listing is "neither an endorsement nor a recommendation," and that DriveSavers is not an Apple Authorized Service Provider.
Reseller Partner Program
DriveSavers publicly advertises a Reseller Partner Program offering "a commission on every successful data recovery" and "no limits on the monthly commissions" (drivesaversdatarecovery.com/partner-programs/reseller/). When a local IT shop advises you to send your drive to DriveSavers instead of a local lab, that IT shop earns a commission on your final bill. Ask whoever recommends a lab to you whether they are paid when you say yes.
Affiliate Review Saturation
Professional associations like APA National (American Photographic Artists) promote DriveSavers to members with a 15% discount, framed as a member benefit (apanational.org/?/member-benefits/category/gear). These partnerships funnel high-value targets (professional photographers with large storage arrays) directly into DriveSavers' premium pricing pipeline, bypassing objective market comparison.
Sales Incentive Culture
Employee reviews on Zippia describe a workplace with "strong incentives" including championship playoff tickets (NHL, NFL, MLB, NBA) (zippia.com/drivesavers-careers-1560373/jobs/novato-ca/). When the people answering the phone are incentivized with sports tickets to secure authorizations on $3,900 quotes, the objectivity of the diagnosis is compromised.
Sponsored placement
Paid placement at the top of search results.
What we spend on search ads
$0
Rossmann Group buys none of these placements. That is one line item our published tiers do not have to carry, and it is why the number is on the site instead of on a phone call.
High-range CPC
$60
Click costs for "data recovery" terms rank among the most expensive keyword categories in Google Ads. Source: Google Keyword Planner.
Top-third pricing rule05/14
What Is DriveSavers' Top-Third Pricing Rule?
DriveSavers bills successful recoveries in the highest third of their quote range. A quote of $700 to $3,900 will almost always result in a final invoice near $3,000 or above. This is not an anomaly; it is their stated policy, published on their own FAQ page.
DriveSavers gives you a range when they quote a job. What they do not tell you up front is how that range actually works. From their own FAQ:
"A successful recovery will generally fall in the top third of the original quote range."
DriveSavers FAQ / Pricing Page
Translation: if they quote you $700 to $3,900, you will pay roughly $3,000+. The lower number exists to make the range look reasonable. The upper number is the real price.
This is not a guess. It is their stated policy. Every "successful recovery" lands in the top third.
Since the whole point is to recover your data, every completed job defaults to the highest bracket.
At Rossmann Repair Group, we publish five fixed pricing tiers for hard drive recovery and five for SSD recovery. The price is based on the work performed, not on where the number falls in a range.
Review manipulation06/14
Are DriveSavers Reviews Fake?
In 2023, NBC Bay Area identified 10 copycat 5-star reviews on DriveSavers' Yelp page. Yelp removed those 10 reviews plus over 100 additional reviews from the listing. On platforms with stricter verification, DriveSavers' ratings tell a different story than their curated profiles.
NBC Bay Area Investigation
Researchers found 5-star reviews that were exact or near-exact duplicates of reviews posted for entirely different businesses. DriveSavers denied involvement and suggested an unnamed competitor posted fake 5-star reviews to frame them.
The gap between DriveSavers' ratings on curated platforms vs. platforms with stricter policing or technical communities illustrates how review management shapes public perception.
Platform
Rating
Pattern
Trustpilot
3.8 / 5.0
37 reviews. Industry watchdogs note businesses can solicit happy clients while suppressing complaints.
Yelp
Flagged / Removed
100+ reviews removed after NBC Bay Area proved copycat 5-star fakes.
Better Business Bureau
Complaint Heavy
Formal complaints consistently cite bait-and-switch pricing and charging for incomplete recoveries.
Reddit (r/datarecovery)
Negative Consensus
Technical professionals consistently warn against the firm due to pricing 2-4x above independent labs.
The "No Data No Charge" Loophole
DriveSavers markets a "No Data, No Charge" guarantee. Their own blog post asks the question directly: "Does 'no data, no charge' mean that the data the customer actually wants must be recovered for there to be a charge? Does it mean that if any data is recovered at all, the customer still has to pay?"
In a BBB complaint against DriveSavers, a customer authorized $2,700 specifically to retrieve lost Word documents. DriveSavers failed to recover a single Word document but charged the full $2,700 for a dump of unrelated photographs. The customer described being "taken advantage of."
Has DriveSavers Failed to Recover Data That Independent Labs Recovered?
Yes. iPad Rehab documented a case where DriveSavers returned an iPhone 11 as permanently unrecoverable. After correctly re-soldering the NAND chip that DriveSavers had installed 180 degrees out of orientation, the phone powered on.
The original fault was a software issue that required no hardware intervention.
iPhone 11 NAND Chip Soldered Upside Down
iPad Rehab published a 38-minute forensic video breakdown of this case. Under a microscope, the team found that DriveSavers had desoldered the NAND memory chip and re-soldered it onto the board rotated 180 degrees. The orientation mark (a small etched dot indicating the A1 pin position) was in the wrong corner.
Installing a NAND chip backwards causes immediate short circuits on the power management unit on the opposite side of the board and risks permanently destroying the encrypted data when power is applied. The original fault was Error 1110: storage too full.
A customer sent a crashed MacBook Pro to DriveSavers. A "senior DriveSavers engineer" performed "extensive testing" and determined the memory chips were so "severely corrupted that even a partial recovery was not possible."
Independent professionals on r/datarecovery described this explanation as technically nonsensical, noting that solid-state memory corruption does not present in this manner. The consensus was that DriveSavers relies on automated PC-3000 tools for easy cases and rejects drives requiring manual engineering time.
A customer's iPhone was crushed in a hydraulic press. DriveSavers initially quoted $2,600, expressing high confidence in recovery despite a visibly snapped motherboard. The customer declined and sent it to iPad Rehab for $810.
iPad Rehab provided transparent communication, attempted advanced CPU transfer at no additional cost, and ultimately determined through rigorous testing that the CPU was destroyed. Neither lab recovered the data, but DriveSavers quoted $2,600 with false confidence for a technically impossible job, while the independent lab provided engineering transparency and attempted advanced procedures for free.
A customer brought an iPhone XS Max to Apple, who reported that the phone could not power on & referred the customer to DriveSavers for data recovery. DriveSavers quoted at least $2,800 to extract the data.
At iPad Rehab, Jessa Jones examined the device & found a different story. The only fault was a broken screen.
Once a working screen was connected to the logic board, the phone powered on. iPad Rehab billed the job as a screen replacement.
Documented: Recovered After DriveSavers Said "Unrecoverable"
In this video, Jessa Jones of iPad Rehab successfully recovers data from a device that DriveSavers deemed unrecoverable. This is not an isolated case.
DriveSavers vs Rossmann08/14
How Does DriveSavers Pricing Compare to Independent Labs?
DriveSavers publishes no rate card, so the only DriveSavers numbers anyone can point at are the ones customers documented after the fact, sourced above. The table below sets those against our published tiers for hard drives, SSDs, and iPhones.
One side of this table was published before any drive shipped. The other side was reconstructed from Reddit threads and BBB complaints, because that is the only place those numbers exist. Compare professional alternatives to DriveSavers.
Factor
Rossmann Repair Group
DriveSavers
Hard Drive Recovery
$100 - $2,000 (5 published tiers)
Not published; quote after evaluation
SSD Recovery
$200 - $1,500 (5 published tiers)
$3,300 - $3,600 (documented quote)
iPhone Recovery
$500 - $750 (2 published tiers)
$2,600 documented, reduced to $1,800 after decline
Quote Transparency
Fixed tiers published online
Range quote; final price in "top third"
Diagnostic Fee
Free
Free (cancellation fees reported)
Referral Commissions
None ($0)
Commission on every successful data recovery
Pricing Model
Part and labor based
Value/brand based
Recovery Equipment
PC-3000, DeepSpar, 0.02µm ULPA bench
Toolset not published
Specialty
Microsoldering, board-level repair
Marketing, corporate compliance
Rossmann pricing from published tiers. DriveSavers pricing from documented customer quotes on Reddit and BBB.
Lab vs lab comparison09/14
How Does DriveSavers Compare to Independent Labs Operationally?
We do the same work, often with more transparency. We charge for the work performed, not the value of your data. The price reflects parts and labor, with no referral commissions, no cancellation fees, and no pressure tactics.
Why do people end up at DriveSavers?
It is rarely because they are the "best." It is usually because:
Apple's support document 102020 lists them as a recommended provider.
Panic drives people to pick the biggest name without shopping around.
Their Reseller Partner Program pays a commission on every successful recovery, so the IT shop that recommends them is paid when you say yes.
Corporate IT policies mandate enterprise vendor paperwork even when unnecessary for the specific device.
Geek Squad routes drives to third-party labs at marked-up prices; their technicians do not perform the recovery themselves.
Why choose Rossmann Group?
Free evaluation with a specific diagnosis (e.g. "C7700 capacitor shorted on PP3V3_G3H rail").
What Technical Limitations Does DriveSavers Omit from Their $3,000+ Quotes?
DriveSavers quotes SSD, Mac, and hard drive recoveries without disclosing technical limitations that determine whether your data is actually recoverable. These are not edge cases. They affect the majority of modern consumer devices, and no amount of cleanroom certification or marketing budget changes the physics.
DriveSavers Does Not Differentiate TRIM-Affected SSDs in Their Pricing
When you delete a file on a modern solid-state drive, the operating system sends a TRIM (SATA) or UNMAP (NVMe) command. The SSD controller unmaps those logical addresses and schedules background garbage collection, which electrically zeroes the NAND pages.
Once garbage collection completes, the data is gone. No lab can recover zeroed flash cells. DriveSavers' pricing page does not differentiate between TRIM-affected and non-TRIM SSDs.
A customer who deleted files from a TRIM-enabled drive last week receives the same $3,300+ quote as a customer whose SSD suffered a controller failure with all data still intact on the NAND. One case has a path to recovery. The other does not, regardless of what DriveSavers charges.
DriveSavers Charges Cleanroom Rates for T2/M-Series Mac Recovery (a Soldering Procedure)
Macs with T2 or M-series processors use line-rate AES-256 hardware encryption bound to the Secure Enclave on the processor die. The NAND flash cannot be desoldered and read independently. Recovery requires repairing the logic board's power delivery rails so the original CPU boots and decrypts its own storage, or using Apple Configurator 2 to revive firmware via DFU mode.
This is a microsoldering and firmware procedure performed on an electronics workbench, not a cleanroom platter operation. DriveSavers publishes no rate card for it, so a customer cannot tell whether an Apple Silicon quote is priced as bench work or as a cleanroom job. Rossmann Group publishes its board-repair tiers before the device ships.
DriveSavers Does Not Disclose SMR Risks on Consumer Hard Drives
Consumer drives in the Seagate Rosewood family (ST1000LM035, ST2000LM007) use Shingled Magnetic Recording, where data tracks overlap. These drives store a Media Cache Management Table (MCMT) that maps which data has been committed from the media cache to the shingled zones.
Running standard translator regeneration commands in the F3 diagnostic terminal will wipe the MCMT, permanently destroying the data map. Recovery requires reading the MCMT before any firmware manipulation and rebuilding the translation layer manually using PC-3000.
DriveSavers does not publish which drives in their intake queue are SMR vs. CMR, and their pricing page does not differentiate between the two. A customer with a $50 Rosewood 2TB laptop drive receives the same opaque quote range as a customer with a CMR enterprise drive, despite the Rosewood requiring a more delicate firmware approach. Our F3 terminal work sits in a published firmware tier you can read before you ship.
PCB Swap Recovery Requires ROM Transfer (a Detail DriveSavers Omits from Quotes)
When a hard drive's circuit board fails, recovery requires swapping to a donor PCB and desoldering the original ROM chip to transfer adaptive parameters, head calibration maps, and firmware configuration. Every drive manufactured after approximately 2006 stores unique data on its ROM that cannot be substituted.
DriveSavers does not explain this in their diagnostic reports. Customers who receive a "PCB failure" diagnosis do not learn that the actual repair is a ROM chip desolder-and-transfer procedure on a standard rework station. Ask which procedure your quote is for. It is firmware and soldering work, not a cleanroom operation, and a lab that publishes its tiers has already told you what that procedure costs.
Frequently asked11/14
Frequently Asked Questions
Common questions about DriveSavers, their pricing, and alternatives.
Is DriveSavers data recovery legit?
Yes, DriveSavers is a legitimate data recovery business with a real lab and real technicians. The controversy is not about legitimacy; it is about pricing. DriveSavers publishes no rate card, so the number arrives after your drive does. Rossmann Group publishes five tiers per device before you ship.
How much does DriveSavers really cost?
DriveSavers publishes no rate card. In documented cases, a 2TB SSD was quoted $3,300 to $3,600, a 1TB HDD was quoted $3,000, and a severely damaged hard drive was quoted $3,900. Their FAQ states the final cost "generally falls in the top third of the original quote range." Sources: r/datarecovery, BBB.
Is DriveSavers a scam?
No. DriveSavers is not a scam. They are a technically competent laboratory with real technicians. Customers call them a "scam" because of the gap between the service performed and the price charged. A $3,000 quote for a repair that takes under an hour feels dishonest, even when the work is done correctly.
Why is DriveSavers so expensive?
DriveSavers publishes no rate card, so nothing about the number can be checked before your drive is already there. What they do publish is a Reseller Partner Program paying a commission on every successful recovery, and an ISO Class 5 cleanroom that an SSD or a phone never needs. Rossmann Group publishes its tiers instead.
What is DriveSavers' top-third pricing rule?
DriveSavers' own FAQ states that "a successful recovery will generally fall in the top third of the original quote range." If you receive a quote of $700 to $3,900, the final invoice will almost always land near $3,000+. The lower number in the range rarely reflects the actual cost of a successful recovery.
Are there cheaper alternatives to DriveSavers?
Yes. Independent laboratories like Rossmann Repair Group and iPad Rehab perform data recovery from mobile devices, SSDs, and hard drives. Rossmann Group publishes its tiers before you ship. Board-level microsoldering decides most phone and Apple Silicon cases, so ask any lab whether it does that work in-house.
Can Rossmann recover data DriveSavers said was unrecoverable?
In some cases, yes. DriveSavers often declares devices "unrecoverable" when the failure is a logic board power rail issue (common in iPhones and Apple Silicon MacBooks) rather than a storage failure. Board repair requires microsoldering expertise; labs without that discipline will reject these cases. Watch a documented example.
Does DriveSavers have cancellation fees?
According to iPad Rehab, DriveSavers introduced cancellation fees for customers who approved recovery and then sought alternatives. DriveSavers states on their pricing page that if data is unrecoverable or you decline recovery, the cost is zero. Ask about all fees before sending a device.
Has DriveSavers been caught with fake reviews?
In 2023, NBC Bay Area and Fake Review Watch identified 10 copycat 5-star reviews on DriveSavers' Yelp page. Yelp subsequently removed those 10 reviews plus over 100 additional reviews from the DriveSavers listing. DriveSavers denied direct involvement and suggested an unnamed competitor posted the fake reviews to frame them. Source: NBC Bay Area.
What happened when DriveSavers soldered a NAND chip upside down?
iPad Rehab documented a case where DriveSavers returned an iPhone 11 as permanently unrecoverable. Under a microscope, the iPad Rehab team found the NAND memory chip had been soldered back onto the board rotated 180 degrees, with the orientation dot in the wrong corner. This caused short circuits on the power management unit. After correctly re-soldering the chip, the phone powered on. The original fault was Error 1110 (storage full), a software issue that required no hardware intervention. Source: iPad Rehab forensic breakdown.
Why do IT professionals on Reddit warn against DriveSavers?
On r/datarecovery, verified data recovery professionals describe DriveSavers as "complete price gougers" whose quotes run 2-4x higher than independent labs for the same work. On r/msp, managed service providers report that approximately 3 of every 5 drives sent to DriveSavers over a two-year period were declared irrecoverable, suggesting the lab rejects labor-intensive physical repairs in favor of easy automated recoveries. Sources: r/datarecovery, r/msp.
Does DriveSavers use different technology for NVMe SSDs vs. SATA SSDs?
NVMe SSDs use the PCIe protocol, which requires a different hardware adapter (like the PC-3000 Portable III PCIe NVMe adapter) than legacy SATA drives. Older SATA SSDs with controllers like the Phison S11 often enter firmware "panic" states that a technician can resolve by injecting a firmware loader via PC-3000 vendor-specific commands. Modern NVMe drives add hardware-level encryption and execute the UNMAP command immediately on file deletion, making recovery after TRIM far more restricted. DriveSavers claims to recover "all solid-state drives" without disclosing these protocol differences. Our SSD recovery pricing starts at $200 regardless of interface type.
Why do high-capacity helium drives cost more to recover?
High-capacity drives in the Seagate Exos and WD Ultrastar families use hermetically sealed helium enclosures instead of standard breather filters. Opening a helium drive for a head swap alters the internal gas density, which changes the fly height of the read/write heads above the platters. Recovery requires specialized containment during the imaging phase to maintain correct head aerodynamics. Standard open-air clean bench procedures used on breather-filter drives will not work. Helium drive recovery starts at $200 for logical issues, with head swap cases ranging from $3,000 to $4,000+ due to helium refill costs ($400 to $800).
Do SSDs need a cleanroom for data recovery?
No. Solid-state drives contain zero moving parts and no read/write heads flying over exposed platters. SSD recovery involves probing the controller chip and desoldering NAND flash packages using hot air rework equipment on a standard electronics workbench. A laminar flow bench is required only for hard drives where internal platters are exposed. Companies advertising ISO 5 cleanroom environments for SSD recovery are using that certification to justify inflated pricing, not to protect your data.
Does DriveSavers really have a 90% success rate?
Affiliate review sites cite a "90%+ success rate" for DriveSavers. In the data recovery industry, success rate percentages are not independently audited. Labs artificially shrink the denominator by excluding severely damaged devices (platters scored beyond imaging, TRIM-erased SSDs, fire-damaged enclosures) at initial triage and labeling them "unrecoverable." The remaining cases are the easiest to complete. Any lab that only counts recoverable devices will report a high success rate. Ask instead: what percentage of drives received were declared unrecoverable before work began?
Do I need an enterprise compliance data recovery lab?
Enterprise compliance paperwork exists for organizations handling protected health information or financial records. If you are recovering family photos, a student laptop, or a personal hard drive, that paperwork adds zero technical recovery capability. It adds audit overhead, facility costs, and chain-of-custody documentation that gets built into your quote. DriveSavers maintains enterprise workflows for enterprise contracts; everyday consumers absorb the cost without gaining any benefit for their specific device.
How does the DriveSavers Apple referral partnership work?
Apple lists DriveSavers as a recommended data recovery provider in support document 102020 (support.apple.com/en-us/102020). DriveSavers' own Reseller Partner Program page advertises "a commission on every successful data recovery" with "no limits on the monthly commissions." Rossmann Group charges a flat $500 for a board-level iPhone repair on pre-X hardware and a flat $750 on iPhone X and newer, and those numbers are on the site before you ship. The Apple relationship goes back decades: Apple first named DriveSavers in a 1999 support memo confirming its recoveries would not void the hardware warranty (full text and archived screenshot).
Quote evaluation checklist12/14
How to Evaluate a Data Recovery Quote
If you have received a data recovery quote over $2,000, run through this checklist before approving the work. These five steps separate competent labs from overpriced referral pipelines, whether you are evaluating DriveSavers or any other provider.
Demand an exact diagnosis. A reputable lab will tell you specifically what failed: logical filesystem corruption, a dead SSD controller, or physical read/write head failure. Vague descriptions like "severe damage" without naming the failed component indicate the lab may not have opened the device. Your quote should reflect a specific failure category with a corresponding price tier.
Stop powering the drive immediately. If the drive is clicking, beeping, or making grinding sounds, disconnect power. Never run chkdsk, Disk Utility First Aid, or consumer recovery software on a physically failing drive. These tools force the damaged read/write heads across the platter surface, converting a recoverable head failure into permanent platter scoring.
Ask whether you have a helium drive. High-capacity drives in the Seagate Exos and WD Ultrastar families use helium-sealed enclosures. These require specialized containment during recovery that standard breather-filter drives do not. Helium drive recovery legitimately costs more, but a standard 2TB breather-filter drive does not justify a $4,000+ quote.
Reject blanket 100% recovery guarantees. No lab can guarantee total recovery before opening the drive. Severe platter scoring, advanced NAND degradation, or TRIM-erased SSD data cannot be recovered regardless of lab size or certifications. A lab that guarantees 100% before diagnosis is prioritizing your deposit over accuracy.
Get a second opinion before approving. Independent labs using PC-3000 systems perform the same mechanical and firmware operations as large corporate labs. If you have already received a quote, contact a lab that publishes no-data-no-fee pricing for a comparison. Ensure the original lab has not powered the drive repeatedly, which can cause additional damage.
Before you pay13/14
Before you pay anyone
If your drive is still detected by your computer, you can attempt recovery yourself using software. Read our DIY data recovery guide before spending money. If the drive is clicking, beeping, or not detected at all, do not attempt DIY; you need professional help.
The whole argument on this page is about price transparency. Here are our actual rates, published for anyone to see. No ranges, no "top third" rule, no surprise invoices.
01
Low complexity
Simple Copy
Your drive works, you just need the data moved off it
Functional drive; data transfer to new media
Rush available: +$100
$100
3-5 business days
02
Low complexity
File System Recovery
Your drive isn't recognized by your computer, but it's not making unusual sounds
File system corruption. Accessible with professional recovery software but not by the OS
Starting price; final depends on complexity
From $250
2-4 weeks
03
Medium complexity
Firmware Repair
Your drive is completely inaccessible. It may be detected but shows the wrong size or won't respond
Your drive was dropped, has visible damage, or a head crash scraped the platters
Platter scoring or contamination. Requires platter cleaning and head swap
50% deposit required. Donor parts are consumed in the repair. Most difficult recovery type.
50% deposit required
$2,000
4-8 weeks
Hardware Repair vs. Software Locks
Our "no data, no fee" policy applies to hardware recovery. We do not bill for unsuccessful physical repairs. If we replace a hard drive read/write head assembly or repair a liquid-damaged logic board to a bootable state, the hardware repair is complete and standard rates apply. If data remains inaccessible due to user-configured software locks, a forgotten passcode, or a remote wipe command, the physical repair is still billable. We cannot bypass user encryption or activation locks.
No data, no fee. Free evaluation and firm quote before any paid work. Full guarantee details. Head swap and surface damage require a 50% deposit because donor parts are consumed in the attempt.
Rush fee
+$100 rush fee to move to the front of the queue
Donor drives
Donor drives are matching drives used for parts. Typical donor cost: $50–$150 for common drives, $200–$400 for rare or high-capacity models. We source the cheapest compatible donor available.
Target drive
The destination drive we copy recovered data onto. You can supply your own or we provide one at cost plus a small markup. For larger capacities (8TB, 10TB, 16TB and above), target drives cost $400+ extra. All prices are plus applicable tax.
The prices above are for standard hard drives, which covers most jobs. Helium-sealed drives (for example WD or HGST Ultrastar He and Seagate Exos X) must be resealed and refilled with helium in-house after the chamber is opened, so they price higher, in the $200–$5,000+ range. See helium drive pricing.
Data Recovery Standards & Verification
Our Austin lab operates on a transparency-first model. We use industry-standard recovery tools, including PC-3000 and DeepSpar, combined with strict environmental controls to maintain drive integrity. This approach allows us to serve clients nationwide with consistent technical standards.
Serving clients nationwide via mail-in service since 2008. Our lead engineer holds PC-3000 and HEX Akademia certifications for hard drive firmware repair and mechanical recovery.
Our "No Data, No Charge" policy means we assume the risk of the recovery attempt, not the client.
LR
Technical Oversight
Louis Rossmann
Our engineers review all lab protocols to maintain technical accuracy and honest service. Since 2008, his focus has been on clear technical communication and accurate diagnostics rather than sales-driven explanations.
We believe in showing the bench rather than just describing it. Open-drive work runs on a 0.02 micron ULPA-filtered laminar clean bench, and we filmed it.